South Africa to host Australia for five ODIs and three T20Is this year

Reece Topley

South Africa is all set to host Australia for this year’s white-ball series that comprises 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is.

Both boards have scrapped the 3-match Test series of 2021.

Earlier, Australia were scheduled to play 3 Test matches in South Africa as part of the WTC cycle in March 2021.

The Test series was cancelled due to the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Now, these 8 white-ball games will be played as a preparation for the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup 2023.

Host nation South Africa will not be losing any money due to this change.

However, the days of cricket have sure lessened as a result of the change in plans.

South Africa will travel to Australia in late 2022 to play a 3-match Test series in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney.

Both sides have not played a Test match since the Sandpapergate scandal of 2018. Along with this, South Africa will also play 3 ODIs against Australia.

This will also be South Africa’s first tour to Australia since 2008.

But, the CSA is concerned as the series will clash with the new T20 league of South Africa and thus wants the series to be played earlier.

South Africa and Australia last played 3 ODIs in March 2020 when South Africa won 3-0 and then at last year’s ICC T20 World Cup which Australia won.

To Top