Chennai Super Kings has been one of the most successful franchises in the IPL. CSK is a cricket team that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and is headquartered in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. The 2008-founded squad competes in its home games at Chennai’s M. A. Chidambaram Stadium. India Cement Company, via holding company Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd, owns the team. The club’s owners’ participation in the 2013 IPL betting scandal resulted in a two-year suspension from the IPL, which began in July 2015. The team won the title in their 2018 return season. MS Dhoni serves as the team’s captain, and Stephen Fleming is the head coach. CSK became the country’s first unicorn sports organisation in January 2022.


CSK is the most successful franchise of IPL. They have won the IPL for 4 times. Chennai won their first title in 2010 against Mumbai Indians. They followed the next year with a victory over Bangalore in the final of 2011. The team has fetured in 9 finals. They reached the final in 2012, but lost to Kolkata in a closely fought encounter. Chennai again lost to Mumbai Indians in the final of the 2013 and 2015.

The team did not feature in the IPL of 2016 and 2017. But Chennai bounced back in 2018 in his comeback IPL and won the IPL in 2018. But the next year, the franchise lost in the final in 2019 against their nemesis Mumbai Indians. They won their last IPL in 2021.

Along with 4 IPL titles, Chennai has won 2 Champion Leagues titles in 2009 and 2014.

More Posts
To Top