Mumbai Indians are a franchise cricket team based in Mumbai, Maharashtra, that competes in the IPL. Moreover, it is the most successful team in the tournament with 5 titles. The franchise is founded in 2008. The team is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its 100% subsidiary Indiawin Sports. Evidently, the home ground of the franchise is the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Additionally, in 2017, the Mumbai Indians became the first franchise to cross the $100 million mark in brand value among the IPL franchises.

The IPL was established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in September 2007. The BCCI revealed the proprietors of eight city-based franchises in January 2008. Moreover, the Mumbai franchise was the most expensive team to be sold in the league.It was sold to Reliance Industries Ltd (RIL) for $111.9 million. For a duration of ten years, the franchise rights were purchased by Mukesh Ambani’s RIL.

IPL Titles

Although  they faced the CSK team in 2010 final, they suffered a loss. Mumbai won its first title in the year 2013. They beat the Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs with Kieron Pollard starring with bat.

In the 2015 final, the team again met their arch rivals Chennai Super Kings in the final. This time they thrashed Chennai in the final by beating them by 41 runs.

The 2017 final was a thriller of its kind. The Indians beat Rising Pune Super Giants in the final by a narrow margin of just 1 run. Needing 3 off the last ball, the Pune team batter was run out during the third run.

The 2019 final also was a nail bitter. They faced Chennai yet again for the third time in the final of the IPL. The Mumbai Indians defeated the CSK team by 1 run while defending a total of 150.

In 2020, Mumbai Indians met the Delhi Capitals in the final. During that season, the team was almost unbeatable. They won the final by 5 wickets.

More Posts
To Top