In 2013, the Sunrisers Hyderabad made its debut in the IPL. They advanced to the playoffs and ultimately took fourth place. Moreover,  In the 2016 IPL season, the Sunrisers won the championship for the first time. They defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by an 8-run margin. Every year since 2016, the squad has advanced to the tournament’s play-off round. The team competed in the Indian Premier League in 2018 and advanced to the finals. However, they fell to Chennai Super Kings in the championship game.

The group is regarded as one of the top bowling teams. They are frequently praised for their capacity to defend low totals. David Warner, has three Orange Cap victories in 2015, 2017, and 2019. Hence, the Australian batter is the team’s leading run-scorer. Star Indian fast bowler Bhuvaneshwar Kumar is the leading wicket taker for the side. He has taken the purple cap twice in 2016 and 2017.

Franchise History | Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Deccan Chargers were replaced by Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013. The franchise made its debut that year. The Deccan Chronicle went bankruptcy. Hence,  Sun TV Network acquired the rights to the franchise.  The squad was revealed on December 18 in Chennai. Sun TV Network, who owns the franchise, won the bid with an offer of 85.05 crore (US$11 million) each year for a five-year contract. This happened a  week after the Chargers were released due to persistent financial difficulties. Sun TV is one of the biggest Television Networks in India. Evidently, they have 32 News Channels and 45 FM Radio Stations.

IPL Title 2016 | Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Orange Army won its first title in 2016. They defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore in a high scoring match. The team won the match by 8 runs. Moreover, David Warner, the skipper had a brilliant season with the bat. Ben Cutting played a cameo with the bat helping SRH lift the trophy. Additionally, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was the purple cap holder that season.

More Posts
To Top