With Rishabh Pant out, who will lead Delhi Capitals in IPL 2023?

Delhi Capitals Logo

IPL franchise, Delhi Capitals’ skipper, Rishabh Pant met with an accident today in the morning.

Pant was going to his hometown Roorkee to celebrate the New Year with his family and was returning from Delhi.

Pant sustained severe injuries after this major accident but his condition is stable at the moment.

According to the doctors, Pant has two cuts on his forehead along with a ligament tear in his right knee.

Now, reports are coming to the fore that it will take around 2-6 months for Pant to recover fully and come back onto the field.

This raises a big question as to who will lead Delhi Capitals in the absence of Pant.

Fortunately, there are three names who can captain Delhi while Pant recovers from his injuries.

Three players who can become skipper of Delhi Capitals

The first name that is on this list is David Warner. Warner has great leadership abilities and he proved it during the 2016 IPL where he helped Sunrisers Hyderabad lift the trophy.

Moreover, Warner is also a key component of the Delhi Capitals’ side because he has been a part of the franchise earlier as well.

And now, Warner is well-established to lead the Capitals in the upcoming season of the IPL.

The second person on this list is Prithvi Shaw. Shaw has previous experience guiding his India-U19 side to victory in 2018.

And thirdly, Mitchell Marsh is also a capable option to lead the franchise. Marsh made his international debut for Australia at just the age of 17.

In 2010, Marsh became captain of his U-19 Australia side and he was successful in leading his side to a victory that same year.

So, with his impeccable leadership skills, Marsh can be a viable option for Delhi Capitals in the 2023 season of the IPL.

Delhi Capitals squad for IPL 2023

Rishabh Pant (c), David Warner, Mukesh Kumar, Rilee Rossouw, Manish Pandey, Prithvi Shaw, Phil Salt, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Dubey, and Vicky Oswal.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top