Australia Women become World Cup champions for the seventh time

Brett lee umran Malik
Image Credits: Cricket Australia Twitter

Australia Women beat defending champions England women in a record-making match in the final of the ICC Women’s World cup.

Australia have won their 7th title after 5 years of waiting.

India had knocked out Australia in the 2017 knockouts of the ICC Women’s World Cup but had lost to England in the finals.

England Women won the toss and sent Australia Women to bat first.

It all started with Australia who batted brilliantly and put up a huge total of 356 for 5 in their 50 overs.

The main contributors to this score were Alyssa Healy who made 170 runs as well as Rachael Haynes and Beth Mooney who made 68 and 62 respectively.

The pick of the bowlers from England Women were Anya Shrubsole who took 3 wickets while Sophie Ecclestone took 1 wicket. One was the run out of Ashleigh Gardner.

The cause of this big score was the result of England’s poor fielding and they also dropped catches at crucial moments of the game.

In the second innings, England gave a strong fightback to Australia with Nat Sciver holding out until the end and made 148 not out off 121 balls.

But Sciver lost partners quickly at the other end and it was quickly all over for England Women as they lost the match by 71 runs.

To Top