Big Bash League is a professional Twenty20 cricket competition for Australian clubs. Cricket Australia started the tournament in 2011.


The BBL was first introduced in 2011, replacing the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash. The league was created by Cricket Australia, with the aim of creating a family-friendly atmosphere and attracting a new generation of cricket fans.

Meanwhile, the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash was replaced by the Big Bash League. Moreover, it has eight city-based franchises instead of the six state teams that had previously competed.

Six of the eight participating teams have won the championship at least once. The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in the brief history of the league, having won the championship five times, twice in a row. The Sydney Sixers have won the championship three times, including twice in a row. The Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, and Adelaide Strikers are the other four championship-winning teams.

In Australia, BBL games are played throughout the winter months of December, January, and February.

Big Bash League Format

The BBL playoffs will be somewhat comparable to the big Indian premier league. The competition permits the fifth-place Big Bash League team to take part in the knockout rounds as well.

The fourth and fifth-placed teams will compete in the Eliminator. The first two teams will compete in two qualifiers to advance as swiftly as possible to the final.

The third-placed team will face the winner of the Eliminator in the second game. The “Challenger” will follow next, in which the loser of the first Qualifier will compete against the victor of the second Qualifier for a spot in the Final.

Every clubs’ main goal will be to finish in the top 5 of the Big Bash points table in order to qualify for the playoffs.

  • Fourth vs Fifth in The Eliminator (Elimination Final)
  •  The Qualifier (Second Semi-Final) 
  •  The Knock-Out: First vs. Second (First Semi-Final) 
  • Third vs. Eliminator Winner
  • A challenger (Preliminary Final) Winner of the Knockout vs. Loser of the Qualifying
  • The Last (Grand Final)- The Qualifier’s victor will face The Challenger’s victor.

In order to strengthen BBL In the 2020 edition, Cricket Australia implemented three new rules: Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and Bash Boost.


The BBL has become a major source of revenue for Cricket Australia and the participating teams. The league attracts massive broadcasting deals and sponsorships, with major companies like KFC, BKT, and Bunnings Warehouse sponsoring the league. The league also attracts huge crowds, with over a million spectators attending matches each year. The league’s success has led to the creation of a women’s Big Bash League, which has become a major success in its own right.


The BBL has given rise to new rivalries and intensified existing ones. The Sydney Sixers and the Sydney Thunder, for example, have a fierce rivalry, with the two teams representing different parts of the city. The Melbourne Derby, between the Melbourne Renegades and the Melbourne Stars, is another intense rivalry, with the two teams representing different parts of the city. The league has also attracted some of the biggest names in world cricket, with players like Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Rashid Khan competing in the league.

More Posts
To Top