Domestic cricket is any kind of cricket played at a level lower than the international level, including first-class cricket, regional cricket, matches between territorial boards, and competitions between cricket clubs.

History of domestic Cricket in India

However, the first club was not established until 1792 with the establishment of the Calcutta Cricket Club on the site where Eden Gardens now stands, although its membership was restricted to Europeans. Cricket is known to have been played in India as early as 1721, most likely among sailors off a merchant ship. Bombay hosted its maiden game five years later. Moreover, Indians started playing the game for the first time in Bombay. The Parsees battled the Eton Ramblers at the close of the 18th century, and they established the Orient Club in 1848. They used leftovers from the exclusive Bombay Gymkhana European Club due to the pricey and limited availability of equipment. 

Domestic competitions in India

Ranji Trophy | Domestic Cricket

The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket competition played in India involving several teams representing regional and state cricket bodies. It is sometimes known as the Mastercard Ranji Trophy due to sponsorship reasons. It was established in 1934 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, and since then, it has been organized yearly on different Indian fields and stadiums.

Irani Trophy | Domestic Cricket

The Board of Control for Cricket in India hosts the first-class Irani Trophy event (BCCI). The Ranji Trophy champions and a cricket team from the rest of India compete in it every year. Players from Ranji teams from different states are on the Rest of India team.

Duleep Trophy 

The event, which is named in the honor of Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar (commonly known as “Duleep”), was first participated in by teams from various geographical regions of India. It has been played by teams selected by BCCI selectors since 2016–17. Right now, West Zone is the champion.

Deodhar Trophy 

It is a 50-over knockout game that is contested annually between India A, India B, and India C and is named for D. B. Deodhar, well known as the Grand Old Man of Indian Cricket.

 Challenger Trophy

The NKP The Challenger Series, also known as the Salve Challenger Trophy, was an Indian List cricket competition held by India’s Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI). The event was started in the 1994–1995 season to showcase the nation’s talent and give emerging players a chance to stand out. Up to the 2013–14 season, the competition took place in October just before the Ranji Trophy season.

 Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Vijay Hazare Trophy sometimes referred to as the Ranji One-Day Trophy, is an annual domestic limited-overs cricket tournament hosted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India that features state teams from the Ranji Trophy competition.

 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The Board of Control for Cricket in India hosts the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, a domestic T-20 cricket competition in India between teams from the Ranji Trophy. It bears the name of the late Indian test cricketer Syed Mushtaq Ali.


More Posts
To Top