The organisation that oversees the international team is the Irish Cricket Union, which goes by the name Cricket Ireland.
Test, One-Day International (ODI), and Twenty20 International (T20I) matches are the three main international sports competitions in which Ireland competes. However, they were granted Test status alongside Afghanistan on June 22, 2017. They are the 11th Full Member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the second Full Member from Europe.


In the early 19th century, English settlers in the cities of Kilkenny and Ballinasloe brought cricket to Ireland. However, t he game started to catch on in the 1830s. Many of the clubs that were created in the next 30 years are still around today.  The Gentlemen of England were the opponents of the inaugural Irish national team’s Dublin match in 1855.  Indeed, the teachings of Englishman Charles Lawrence’s in the 1850s was essential in the growth of the sport. Moreover,  Ireland first had visits from touring professional teams in the 1850s and 1860s. They played the Marylebone Cricket Club (the M.C.C.) for the first time in 1858.

Ireland Cricket Journey

They joined as the Associate Nation of the ICC in 1993. The team narrowly missed the World Cup berth in 1999. But they kept impressing everyone with their brilliant performances. Ireland first featured in the ODI World Cup in the year 2007. Indeed they surprised everyone by beating Pakistan and tied with Zimbabwe. The team had a memorable match against England in 2011, their victory shocked everyone. They also featured in the 2015 World Cup played in Australia.

The team played its first T20 World Cup in the year 2009 impressing everyone in the tournament. Moreover, they played their first Test match against Pakistan in May 2018.

More Posts
To Top