BCCI and Sachin Tendulkar to felicitate India’s U19 Women’s Team

Crickdom Default Featured Image

After winning the inaugural U19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa, the Indian team is going to be felicitated at Ahmedabad.

Both the BCCI and India legend, Sachin Tendulkar will be awarding the young women cricketers before the 3rd T20I.

The Indian women’s team has arrived in Mumbai after flying from South Africa and will go to Ahmedabad tomorrow.

Writes Secretary Jay Shah on his Twitter handle,

It is with great delight I share that Bharat Ratna Shri @sachin_rt and @BCCI Office Bearers will felicitate the victorious India U19 team on Feb 1st in Narendra Modi Stadium at 6:30 PM IST. The young cricketers have made India proud and we will honour their achievements.

Under Shafali Verma’s able captaincy, India won the final with seven wickets to spare and also recorded their first-ever ICC win in women’s cricket.

It was all thanks to a brilliant bowling performance and a calm run-chase that got India over the top in the end.

Winning the toss and electing to bowl first, India led a solid bowling performance with Titas Sadhu and Archana Devi creating havoc over England.

England were reeling at 22/4 and never recovered quickly with the constant fall of wickets.

Moreover, England couldn’t even complete their quota of 20 overs as they fell for just 68 runs.

India chased down the target of 69 runs with ease in the final.

India receives a scare after early wickets but manage to win the match

During the second innings, Shafali Verma and Shweta Sehrawat came out to open the innings for India.

Verma’s firey 15 from 11 balls started the innings well for India. However, Hannah Baker got the better of Verma.

Sehrawat was the next to be dismissed by Scrivens which put India in a spot of bother.

However, Soumya Tiwari and Gongadi Trisha steadied the Indian ship and played some cracking shots that took India close to the target.

Alexa Stonehouse cleaned up Trisha when the latter was trying to hit the winning runs.

But, it was not long before Soumya Tiwari smashed the winning runs for India.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top