BCCI announces squad for white ball series against Sri Lanka


BCCI, on Tuesday, made an official announcement of the squad that will participate in the upcoming white ball series against Sri Lanka.

BCCI announced two different squads for the T20 and ODI series. The senior members have been given a rest for the shorter format. Moreover, after days of speculation, Hardik Pandya has been finally named the skipper for the T20 series. Further, Suryakumar Yadav will essay the deputy role. He will be the vice-captain for the T20 series.

Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar received surprise call-ups for the T20 series. Moreover, Rishabh Pant has been dropped from both series. It is unclear whether this is a tactical move or if the wicketkeeper is injured. The fan favorite, Sanju Samson will most likely keep wickets in Pant’s absence.

Rohit and Virat to return for the ODI series: BCCI

The senior duo of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will return for the one-day international series. BCCI sources earlier revealed that the senior duo will step back from the T20 format for a while to focus on 2023 World Cup preparations.

Under fire, KL Rahul retains his spot in the ODI squad. However, his position as vice-captain has been snatched by the BCCI. Hardik Pandya will be Rohit’s deputy for the ODI series. Further, Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped from the ODIs. Shikhar led the team in Rohit’s absence in the past. Hence, his omission raises many questions. BCCI wants to start the team’s preparations for the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup. Hence, they have been selecting the players accordingly. The World Cup is going to take place at home. Hence, BCCI does not want lapses in preparation from their side.

The outgoing selection committee, led by Chetan Sharma, probably chaired their last meeting for squad selection. The committee’s sources revealed that they scouted a lot of players in the domestic games for the series.

India’s squad for the T20 series against Sri Lanka

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar

India’s squad for the ODI series against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh

Follow us for more sports related news on ‎twitter

To Top