BCCI confirms South Africa tour of India starting on June 9

Photo Credits: BCCI Twitter

BCCI on Saturday, have confirmed that South Africa will be touring India after the IPL.

Both teams will be playing a 5-match T20I series commencing from June 9.

The venues for the same are Delhi, Cuttack, Vishakhapatnam, Rajkot and Bengaluru.

This series will give India a big boost in preparation for the upcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup in November.

South Africa’s last tour of India was in March 2020 for a short 3-match ODI series.

But the series never materialized fully.

In 2019, both teams played a T20I series when South Africa once again toured India for three T20Is and three Test matches.

Last year, India had toured South Africa for three Tests and three ODIs both of which India lost badly.

It also led to Virat Kohli stepping down as India’s Test captain.

Currently, all of India’s players are involved in the ongoing IPL with the exception of Deepak Chahar who has been ruled out for three months following a back injury.

Even South Africa’s cricketers such as Quinton de Kock, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi and Anrich Nortje are playing the IPL.

To Top