BCCI to axe Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma, and Wriddhiman Saha from central contracts list


The Board of Control for Cricket in India or BCCI has decided to let go of some of the players from their central contracts list.

Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, and Ishant Sharma are going to face the axe in the fresh list.

The BCCI is almost at the end of deciding their final list and it will be announced at the board’s Apex Council meeting, scheduled for 21st December.

New faces are going to grace this list.

The likes of Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Ishan Kishan are the ones going to benefit from the new list.

In A+ contracts, players get an amount of 7 crore rupees, those in A get 5 crores, Group B players get 3 crores and Group C players receive 1 crore rupees.

BCCI uses multiple metrics to make the list of central contracts after discussions with national selectors in order to determine the gradation system.

Types of Players in each of the groups

There are different types of players in the four central contracts group. In the A+ group, there are players who are playing all three formats for India.

When it comes to Group A, then there are players who are certainty in Test cricket.

Group B players need to play at least two formats of cricket for India and Group C players are those playing only a single format of cricket.

Additionally, all players have to play a specific amount of international games to get included in this list.

However, the promotion is based on performance and the ICC ranking of each player.

Quote from Senior BCCI official

Says a senior BCCI official,

Surya was in Group C but his performance in the last one year warrants a promotion to Group B at least, if not A. He is currently world No.1 in T20I ICC rankings and is a serious contender in ODI team also.

Even Shubman Gill can expect a promotion from Group C to B for his excellent performances in ODIs and Tests for India.

Hardik Pandya has been a consistent performer for India and their stand-in skipper for the T20I series.

He was demoted to Group C because of missing out last season due to a back injury.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top