BCCI to ban Sri Lanka and Bangladesh players from IPL?

Titas Sadhu

The IPL’s 16th season will commence on March 31st with Gujarat Titans versus Chennai Super Kings. However, the league has faced obstacles prior to its start, including player injuries and NOC denials. Some players will miss the first game due to international commitments. Additionally, the BCCI has expressed dissatisfaction with the Bangladesh Cricket Board and Sri Lanka Cricket for not releasing players in a timely manner. They are even contemplating a shadow ban on players from these countries for the IPL 2024 auctions.

Only three Bangladeshi players will participate in the upcoming IPL season: Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das, and Mustafizur Rahman. However, due to an ongoing series against Ireland, these players will not travel to India until April 9th. Moreover, they will be unavailable from May 9th-15th because of their ODIs against Ireland.

The BCCI and franchises are unhappy with the BCB’s behavior and are stating that players should not register for the tournament if they plan to play only partially. In addition to Bangladeshi players, cricketers from Sri Lanka will also miss the first week of the IPL due to their ongoing series against New Zealand.


During an interview, a franchise official expressed doubts regarding their interest in selecting players from Bangladesh and Sri Lanka during future auctions.

“Franchises would be sceptical about picking players from certain countries if they are here to play the tournament partly.”

Here is the list of Sri Lanka and Bangladesh players who would miss a few games:

Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) – April 8

Matheesha Pathirana (CSK) – April 8

Maheesh Theekshana (CSK) — April 8

Bhanuka Rajapaksa (PBKS) – Available

Litton Das (KKR) – Unavailable till April 8, Unavailable from May 7-14

Shakib Al Hasan (KKR) – Unavailable till April 8, Unavailable from May 7-14

Mustafizur Rahman (DC) – Unavailable till April 8, Unavailable from May 7-14

Follow us on Twitter for more!

To Top