BCCI unveils official mascot of Women’s Premier League; names it ‘Shakti’

Crickdom Default Featured Image

On Thursday, BCCI Secretary, Jay Shah unveiled the official mascot for the upcoming Women’s Premier League starting tomorrow.

The mascot is a tigress known as ‘Shakti’ who is dressed up in a blue jersey.

Before the tournament, there was a mega auction held for the same in which five teams- Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Giants, and UP Warriorz bought the teams.

Additionally, they also bought in a mix of talented international and domestic players for all five teams in the auction.

Moreover, the league is going to start on the 4th of March with Mumbai Indians Women taking on Gujarat Giants.

Furthermore, the tournament will have a total of 20 games and two Playoff games.

Final details of the Women’s Premier League announced by the BCCI

Moreover, there will be only four doubleheaders in this tournament with the afternoon games starting at 3:30 PM IST.

On the other hand, all evening games have been scheduled for 7:30 PM IST.

Moreover, 11 games each have been assigned to Mumbai’s DY Patil and Brabourne stadiums respectively.

Furthermore, the final league match of the tournament will be played between Delhi Capitals and UP Warriorz.

DY Patil Stadium will host the Eliminator on the 24th of March.

On the other hand, the final of the WPL will be played on the 26th of March at Brabourne Stadium.

Therefore, this will be a great tournament to watch out for all the fans in India as they have been waiting for this for a long time.

Through this tournament, more girls will look to take up the sport of cricket as a career path after watching their favorite women cricketers in the tournament.

Also, BCCI is looking to encourage women in sports through this tournament and is on an empowering mission for the same.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top