Four Indian women cricketers feature in ICC T20I Team of the Year

Smriti Mandhana

The ICC has recently announced their Women’s T20I Team of the Year for the year 2022.

This list features four Indian women players along with three players from Australia.

Sophie Devine is the skipper of this exceptional women’s team.

India’s Smriti Mandhana along with three others are the Indian players on this list.

Last year, the Indian women’s team won the 2022 Asia Cup and also bagged the silver medal at the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

But, in their last T20I assignment at home against Australia women, they lost the series 1-4. However, they have given some very wonderful individual performances in 2022.

Starting with star batter Smriti Mandhana. Mandhana had a fabulous 2022 as she ended her year with 594 runs with an average of 33.00 and a strike rate of 133.48 in T20Is in 2022.

The ICC has paired with Australia’s Beth Mooney in the opening slot. Mooney also starred well for Australia in 2022 as she amassed 449 runs from just 13 T20I matches and finished the year with an average of 56.12.

Other players on the ICC list include New Zealand, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka

New Zealand’s skipper, Sophie Devine is the skipper of this team. Moreover, Australia’s Ashleigh Gardener and Tahlia McGrath feature in the middle order.

Both Aussie women breathed fire in 2022 with McGrath making it to the top of the ICC T20I batter charts for women and Gardner sitting at the top in the T20I all-rounder charts.

Pakistan’s Nida Dar is the only woman cricketer on this list as she scored 396 runs and ended 2022 with 15 wickets to her name in T20Is.

India’s Deepti Sharma was also in pretty good form as she has also been included in this list along with teammate, Richa Ghosh.

When it comes to the bowling department, then England’s ace spinner, Sophie Ecclestone has been put on this team by the ICC.

Ecclestone is the current chart-topper in the T20I bowling charts of the ICC and has been paired with Sri Lanka’s Inoka Ranaweera.

Even India’s Renuka Singh has managed to make it to this list because of her splendid performances last year.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top