Gill dismissed incorrectly, Rohit Sharma expresses displeasure

Shubman Gill

During India’s second innings in the recently-concluded World Test Championship Final, Shubman Gill was given a controversial out.

Meanwhile, Australia imposed a humongous target of 444 runs for India to chase down and win the Test mace.

Additionally, Rohit Sharma and Gill opened for India once again and got the team off to a flying start.

However, in the eighth over, Scott Boland once again got the better of Gill as he had done to him in the first innings as well.

Gill nicked the ball to Cameron Green who caught it in a rather controversial fashion to dismiss the young batter.

Meanwhile, it was quite evident from Rohit’s facial expressions how disappointed and disgruntled he was.

On the other hand, the decision sparked major controversy on social media as well. Many were of the opinion that the ball had touched the ground when Green was catching it.

Unfortunately, the umpires didn’t use the soft signal system to confirm whether Gill was out or not out.

The youngster wasn’t impressive in the second innings and scored just 18 runs from 19 balls.

Gill and others fail as India denied Test mace once again

Meanwhile, India tried their level best to keep the game going till the last day as Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane tried to fill in the gaps.

Rohit was also looking good in the second innings and scored 43 from 60 balls before Nathan Lyon dismissed him.

Furthermore, Test specialist, Cheteshwar Pujara failed yet again in the second innings as the score was too much for India.

He made only 27 from 47 balls and was cleaned up quickly by the Aussie bowlers.

All of Australia’s bowlers were among the wickets as they completely dominated and dismantled India.

India ultimately lost the final by 209 runs and lost the chance to win the Test mace as well.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top