Hardik Pandya to be demoted to Grade C in BCCI contracts

Hardik Pandya
Photo Credits: Hardik Pandya Twitter

The BCCI has come forward with a list of 27 Indian men’s players who will receive their annual retainership contracts in the coming days.

Hardik Pandya, India all-rounder, will this time see a demotion to Grade C.

Pandya has been out of the Indian side for far too long owing to injuries and not bowling during matches.

Shikhar Dhawan will see a move from Grade A to C.

The reason for this is that Dhawan features in only one format for India that is, ODIs.

Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant will remain in their Grade A contracts.

Jadeja is part of a long-time debate in which he was considered to be transferred to Grade A+.

But the BCCI has decided not to allot Jadeja the highest contract just yet. The same is the case with Rishabh Pant.

Grade A+ will continue to have Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah.

Jadeja and Pant will remain with R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami and KL Rahul.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane will face a demotion and will be given Grade B contracts.

Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha are in Grade B and C respectively.

Ishant has been in and out of the Indian side and has not been able to play many matches due to his poor form or injuries.

Mohammed Siraj, who has been performing game after game for India in the white and red ball format will see a jump from Grade C to B.

To Top