Harmanpreet Kaur to lead Mumbai Indians in WPL 2023

Harmanpreet Kaur

Recently, IPL franchise, Mumbai Indians announced that India Women’s skipper, Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading their franchise.

Kaur has been a powerhouse in batting for India for over a decade now.

Additionally, she has also become the first cricketer to play 150 T20Is for India.

Moreover, Kaur is also an Arjuna awardee and has a great winning record while also holding the record for the highest-ever individual score in a Women’s World Cup match which is 171*.

Says Nita M. Ambani on Harmanpreet Kaur,

We are thrilled to have Harmanpreet as the captain of Mumbai Indians’ first-ever women’s cricket team. As the national captain, she has led the Indian Women’s team to some of their most exciting wins. And I am sure that with Charlotte and Jhulan’s support, she will inspire our MI women’s team to play their best cricket, display a sense of pride, and bring even more glory to women in sports. We are so looking forward to the beginning of this new chapter for MI! I can’t wait to see our girls play the fearless and entertaining MI brand of cricket that our fans adore. More power to Harmanpreet and the entire MI team on this exciting journey ahead!

Mumbai Indians to clash with Gujarat Giants in first game of WPL 2023

Harmanpreet already has great experience playing with and captaining Jhulan Goswami and has also played against Charlotte Edwards.

She has also been quite influential for other women players by being the first Indian to play in overseas T20 leagues across the world.

Therefore, she will now be leading a team that comprises some of world cricket’s biggest names as well as youngsters who are eager to showcase their talent on the big stage.

The coaching staff comprises of Charlotte Edwards, Jhulan Goswami, Devieka Palshikaar, and Lydia Greenway.

Along with Harmanpreet Kaur as skipper, the team also includes names of Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Heather Graham, Isabelle Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaque, Hayley Matthews, Chole Tryon, Humairaa Kaazi, Priyanka Bala, Sonam Yadav, Neelam Bisht, and Jintimani Kalita.

The first season of the WPL starts in two days’ time and Mumbai Indians will play the opening game against Gujarat Giants on 4th March.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top