How Mumbai Indians stars have performed over the years in BGT

Mumbai Indians

India and Australia are going to face each other for the 16th edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in just a day’s time.

Some members of the IPL franchise, Mumbai Indians have been part of teams for this historic series.

Some of these stars are India legend, Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah.

This year, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is the much-awaited assignment on India’s calendar of cricketing events.

This fabled rivalry between the Indians and Aussies has kept Test cricket alive with its drama, unpredictability, and narratives.

Let’s take a look at how some of the heroes of Mumbai Indians have performed in this series.

A look at the legends of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy over the years

Former India greats of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Sachin Tendulkar:

India’s God of Cricket and Legend, Sachin Tendulkar had a great penchant for scoring runs among the mighty Aussies during his heydays. When he came out to bat, shouts of ‘Sachin, Sachin’ echoed from the stands.

Tendulkar loved to get the better of bowlers such as Glenn McGrath, Brett Lee, and the late Shane Warne.

Additionally, Sachin has the most number of runs when it comes to Border-Gavaskar Trophy. His 241 in the 2004 Sydney Test remains unbeaten to this date and is the highest record by an Indian on Aussie soil.

Sachin’s other knocks include 214 in the Bengaluru Test in 2010 and then a ton at the MCG during India’s whitewash in 2000 and 155 not out in the 1998 Chennai Test that India won.

Harbhajan Singh:

The ‘Turbanator’ has been a special part of India during Test matches against Australia. Making his debut in 1998, Bhajji ended Australia’s 16-match winning streak from 1999-2001.

Bhajji’s performances ensured that India started a new chapter in Test cricket.

During the 2001 series, Harbhajan became the first Indian player with a Test hat-trick when he dismissed Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, and Shane Warne off consecutive deliveries.

In the Chennai Test, Bhajji returned with match figures of 15/217. His 32 wickets during the 2000-01 series ensured a memorable turnaround victory for India and also made him immortal in cricketing rivalry.

Zaheer Khan:

Zippy Zak has also been a great player for India when it comes to Australia.

Zaheer knew how to swing the new ball and reverse the old. He is currently the leading wicket-taker in the BGT with 61 wickets from 19 games.

Additionally, Zaheer has two five-wicket hauls in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. His first one was in an inning in the 2008 Bengaluru Test and the second one in the 2010 Mohali Test.

Furthermore, Zaheer also became a hero in the 2008 Bengaluru Test where he refused to budge from the wicket and helped India get a draw.

Modern-day greats of Mumbai Indians due to participate in the BGT

Rohit Sharma:

Now is the time for the Indian skipper to play his first major Test series against Australia at home. Fans are expecting that Rohit will boss the Aussies around in this series.

Making his Test debut in 2013, Rohit has played only seven times against Australia and has made 408 runs which include three fifties.

During the fourth innings of the Sydney Test of 2021, Rohit scored a fifty and ensured a draw for India.

Jasprit Bumrah:

Bumrah has caused trouble to Australia in the past and is a modern-day bowling great for India in Tests.

He has 32 wickets from seven matches with an economy of 2.47.

During the 2018 series, Bumrah became the Player of the Match for his performances of 6/33 and 3/53 in the Boxing Day Test at Melbourne that India won.

Furthermore, in the 2020-21 tour, Bumrah picked up 11 wickets that includes 6/110 in the second Test at MCG.

Despite being new to Test cricket, Bumrah has quickly become the spearhead of India’s Test bowling attack.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top