ICC named Nitin Menon in the 16 Umpires For 2022 T20 WC


India’s Nitin Menon got his name among the 16 umpires to officiate in Australia’s ICC T20 World Cup. Menon has been the only one from India on the ICC Elite Panel. However, he has already landed in Australia. The ICC has already declared 20 match officials to feature in the tournament’s First Round and Super 12s stage .

In a statement, ICC said,

“In total, 16 umpires will officiate across the tournament with Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Kumara Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus having been the umpires in charge of the 2021 final which saw this year’s hosts claim their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title.”

“It is an experienced group of umpires, with the same 16 selected as last year’s tournament which was held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.”

Ranjan Madugalle, chief Referee of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, is all set to stand in his eighth T-20 World Cup. He is a part of the quartet of former international cricketers.

ICC declared names for First round and Super Four

Sri Lanka’s Madugalle will join Zimbabwe’s Andrew Pycroft, Christopher Broad of England and Aussie David Boon.

Pycroft however, will stand in the tournament’s opening match in Geelong on 16th October. That day, Sri Lanka will face Namibia in the First round. Joel Wilson and Rodney Tucker moreover, will be the other two umpires in the middle. Paul Reiffel will be the TV umpire. Erasmus, will feature as the fourth umpire.

Erasmus, Tucker and Aleem Dar are will feature in their seventh ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Langton Rusere however will be umpiring in his second World Cup this year. He was the umpire in Women’s ODI World Cup 2022. In the final, he moreover was reserve umpire.

ICC added,

“Officials have been named for the entirety of the First Round and Super 12s, with the selections for the semi-finals and final of the tournament to be named in due course.”

Match Officials at the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:

Andrew Pycroft, Christopher Broad, David Boon, Ranjan Madugalle Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Aleem Dar, Ahsan Raza, Christopher Brown, Christopher Gaffaney, Joel Wilson, Kumara Dharmasena, Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Michael Gough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rodney Tucker.

Follow our Twitter for more updates.

To Top