IND vs SL ODI series: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli to return, Pant rested


Rohit Sharma will return to lead the Indian side for the ODI series against Sri Lanka after missing out on the T20 series.

BCCI on Tuesday announced two squads for the T20 and the ODI series respectively. India’s regular skipper, Rohit Sharma, will rest for the shorter format, and Hardik Pandya will fill his shoes. Moreover, Indian batting stalwart, Virat Kohli too will rest for T20s and return for the ODIs.

Senior members of the Indian cricket team have reportedly been asked to focus on the long white-ball format as the 2023 World Cup is approaching really quickly. Hence, Hardik Pandya and the young brigade will take care of the T20s.

Rohit Sharma to lead in ODIs, Rishabh Pant rested

Rohit Sharma led side will miss the services of Rishabh Pant. Pant is missing from both the white ball squads. He is reportedly suffering from a niggle and will be sent to NCA for recovery. Rishabh Pant is having a hard time in the white ball format as his number is disappointing.

Apart from Rishabh, Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped from the squad as well. Dhawan previously led the side during Rohit Sharma absence. Hence, his ouster came as a shock. Prithvi Shaw is sidelined once again, and Shubhman Gill has been given a chance ahead of the two openers.

In another transition, KL Rahul lost his position as the vice-captain owing to his disappointing performance in 2022. His dear friend, Hardik Pandya, will be filling in his shoes and will be Rohit Sharma deputy in ODIs.

Furthermore, Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh, along with Mohammad Shami and Siraj, will handle the pace department. Kuldeep Yadav received a chance at redemption as he is been called in for the white ball series after a considerable gap. Also, he will partner with Yuzvendra Chahal.

India’s squad for the ODI series against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh

Follow us for more sports related news on ‎twitter

To Top