India Women registers a thumping win over Malaysia Women in a rain-hit match

Indian Womens Team

India Women faced Malaysia Women in the 6th game of the Womens Asia Cup T20 2022. The game was played on the 3rd of October at Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium. India was playing their second game post having a winning start against Sri Lanka. Malaysia, on the other hand, was reeling from a massive defeat against Pakistan in their opening game.

Harmanpreet Kaur was asked to bat first after losing the toss. Furthermore, four regular players, Smriti Mandhana, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, and Renuka Singh, were rested to test the Indian bench strength. Hence, S Meghana, along with Shafali Verma, opened the innings for the team.

The openers set up the Indian innings significantly. Together, they put up a first-wicket partnership of 116 runs. However, Meghana fell right in the 14th over. Indian wicket-keeper, Richa Ghosh took charge and scored a blistering knock of 33 off just 19 deliveries. Meanwhile, Shafali anchored the innings from the other end, and India Women finished with a total of 181 runs on board.

India Women could bowl only 5 overs as rain hampered the chase

During the innings break, the conditions turned overcast. Thick dark clouds began to hover over the ground. The chase began with a wicket in the very first over. India Women started with spin. Kaur called in Deepti Sharma for the first over. Winifred Duraisingam was struck on the pads and was given out. However, she got unlucky as the ball deflected the bat before it hit the pads. The umpire failed to catch the edge.

Malaysia was 1 down without moving the scoreboard. Soon after, the second wicket fell in the fourth over. Rajeshwari Gayakwad knocked off Wan Julia’s stumps to end her stay at the crease. And with that, the Malaysia women were 2 down for just 6 runs on board.

Deepti and Rajeshwari together bowled 5 overs in total. Meghna Singh was called in to bowl the 6th over. However, she could only bowl 2 deliveries as the rain stopped the play. The incessant rain took over. The match could not be played further as the outfield was too wet. The DLS method came into play and India was 30 runs ahead. Hence, India Women were declared the winner as per the DLS rules.

India Women now stands second on the points table after winning 2 games successively. India Women are favorites for the continental tournament. The Womens Asia Cup T20 2022 kicked off on the 1st of October. The finals will take place on 15th October 2022.

Follow us for more sports related news on twitter

To Top