IPL 2022: BCCI confirms four venues for hosting the league stage

Indian Premier League
Photo Credits: IPL Twitter

The 15th season of the IPL is all set to begin in the last week of March and will go on till May.

Sourav Ganguly confirmed the same in a recent statement.

India will be the sole organizer of the tournament.

It will only see a shift to the UAE if the Covid situation sees a worsening in India.

The cities chosen for the league stage are Mumbai and Pune.

The venue for the Playoffs still remains in the pipeline as BCCI are mulling their options.

The stadiums for the league stage will be Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, D.Y. Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai and M.C.A. Stadium, Pune.

This will ensure that all the teams in IPL will have to carry fewer reserve players and the bio-bubble remains safe and secure. The auctions will start in Bengaluru on February 12th and 13th. All teams have a period of 9 days to decide as to who they want to have in their franchise. It will now be a 10 team tournament from the forthcoming season.

Mumbai Indians won the 2020 season after beating Delhi Capitals in the final. Chennai Super Kings are the title holders after they won it in 2021. The first phase of IPL 2021 was held in India and the rest of it was shifted to the UAE.

To Top