Over 50s Cricket World Cup Set to Commence in Cape Town


The Over 50s cricket world cup will see fourteen teams from around the world competing in Cape Town from March 6. Multiple venues across Cape Town will host the tournament.

Cricketers from 14 nations will take part in the event. The top Over-50s cricketers from around the world will showcase their talents in the tournament. The final match will take place on March 20 at the famous Newlands Cricket Ground.

‘Over 50s World Cup will be thrilling for both fans and players’

Louis Koen, captain of South Africa expressed his joy:

The Over-50s Cricket World Cup is surely going to be a highly competitive tournament. We’re indeed confident in our abilities and are looking forward to representing our country on the global stage.”

The Over 50s Cricket World Cup is split into Divisions A and B. Division A has Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Canada, Zimbabwe, New Zealand, and the United States. While Division B features South Africa, India, Pakistan, Wales, Namibia, England, and the UAE.

Evergreen Lifestyle, South Africa’s top provider of retirement living solutions, will sponsor the tournament.

“We are thrilled to be a part of the Over 50s Cricket World Cup. It is also an honour to support the continued well-being of cricket in South Africa. As a company, we are dedicated to promote active retirement lifestyles. Also, we believe that sports like cricket play a major role in maintaining physical and mental health.”

the Sales Director of Evergreen Lifestyle said.

Tournament Director, Roger Moult, said that the tournament will undoubtedly be thrilling for both players and fans. Furthermore, he added that they are looking forward to recreating the excitement and spirit that was evident in 2020. The schedule of the tournament will be made available on the tournament website later this week.

Follow us on Twitter for more!

To Top