Punjab Kings for a complete overhaul in the coaching setup

Punjab Kings Logo

IPL franchise, Punjab Kings has recently appointed former India spinner and selector, Sunil Joshi as spin-bowling coach of the franchise.

The announcement is already out on their social media handles as well.

Joshi is now going to be a part of the coaching staff of the Punjab Kings who have the services of Trevor Bayliss as head coach.

Bayliss has replaced Anil Kumble who had a rather disappointing 2022 season with the franchise.

Punjab Kings remained in 6th place out of 10 teams in the IPL and did not fare well throughout the tournament.

Sunil Joshi’s stats as a player and selector in India’s senior men’s team

Joshi played 15 Tests and 69 ODIs for India in the period of 1996 and 2001. The left-arm spinner has picked up 110 international wickets for India.

He has also played for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural season of the IPL as well.

Additionally, Joshi has also been a chief selector of India’s men’s senior team’s selector.

But, in 2022, BCCI went for a complete overhaul of the selection committee after India’s performance in the T20 World Cup.

On the other hand, Punjab Kings have also decided to overhaul their coaching staff for this season of the IPL.

Apart from Joshi and Bayliss, the franchise has also appointed Wasim Jaffer as the batting coach.

Jaffer has previously been a part of the Punjab Kings as well. Moreover, Charl Langeveldt is the bowling coach for the 2023 IPL season.

Shikhar Dhawan to lead Punjab Kings after Mayank Agarwal is ousted

Punjab Kings decided to let go of former skipper Mayank Agarwal after he didn’t perform well for the franchise.

Now, Shikhar Dhawan has been given the reins of the franchise for the new season.

On the other hand, SunRisers Hyderabad went with Mayank Agarwal and bought him for a good price of INR 8.25 crores.

Meanwhile, PBKS also decided to buy Sam Curran for a whopping price of INR 18.5 crores which became the highest buy of the mini-auction.

Punjab Kings’ squad for IPL 2023

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Shahrukh Khan, Liam Livingstone, Harpreet Brar, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Atharwa Tajde, Kagiso Rabada, Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Chahar, Nathan Ellis, Baltej Singh, Shivam Singh, Mohit Rathee, Vidwath Kaverappa, Harpreet Bhatia, Sikandar Raza, Sam Curran

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top