Rohit Sharma, Harshal Patel registers unwanted records


The third and final T20 international between India and South Africa took place on 4th October 2022 at Indore. Furthermore, India had already sealed the 3-game series by 2-1. Rohit Sharma won the toss and invited the Proteas to bat first.

Temba Bavuma’s batting woes continued as he was dismissed for just 3 runs. But, Quinton de Kock and Rilee Rossouw took charge and snatched the game away from India’s grip. Rossouw unleashed carnage and hit a terrific hundred off just 48 deliveries. Moreover, De Kock played a magnificent supporting role and scored 68 off 43 balls. Lastly, David Miller’s late 3 sixes helped South Africa reach a mammoth target of 227.

Indian openers walked in for the chase under pressure. The men in blue received their first blow as their ace batter and skipper, Rohit Sharma, was dismissed for a two-ball duck. Shreyas Iyer walked in one down in the absence of Virat Kohli. However, he turned back to the dressing room without troubling the scoreboard. All of a sudden, India was 2 down for just 4 runs. And just like that, the wickets kept falling at regular intervals. In the end, Team India was bundled for 178 runs and lost the game.

Rohit Sharma creates an unwanted record

Indian captain Rohit Sharma has registered an embarrassing record to his name. He now tops the list of T20 batters that have been dismissed the most times on a single digit score. Moreover, he is followed by Kevin O’Brien. Incidentally, KL Rahul is on the list and stands in the 5th position.

Rohit Sharma’s form in the T20s has taken a massive hit. He has been unable to create a significant impact on the powerplay. Additionally, he has become the first Indian to register 10 ducks in his whole T20 career.

Harshal Patel is now officially the bowler with the worst economy

Harshal Patel has been on the receiving end ever since he returned to the side after recovering from an injury. The Aisa Cup was a disaster for him. Besides in this game, he conceded 49 runs in his quota of 4 overs with an economy rate of 12.2. As a result, he is now the bowler who has conceded the most runs in a calendar year. He has leaked a total of 650 runs this year and it’s not over yet. Pakistani speedsters, Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi are next on the list with 637 and 599 runs respectively.

South Africa creates a milestone

After a thumping win over India in the third T20 international, the Proteas have made history in India. They now hold the record for the largest T20 victory over India in India. Rohit Sharma and co fell short of 49 runs and lost the game chasing a total of 228. This win will certainly boost the team’s confidence as they now head to the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Follow us for more sports related news on twitter

To Top