Rohit Sharma scores 6000 IPL runs: fourth after Kohli, Dhawan and Warner

Mahela Jayawardene - Rohit Sharma - Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma is the owner of six thousand runs in IPL. He became the third Indian to achieve this feat after Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan. Rohit needed 14 runs to achieve this feat against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Rohit scored 28 runs. Rohit now has 6014 runs in IPL.

Apart from Rohit Sharma, the only three other batsmen have scored 6000 runs in IPL. They are David Warner (6109), Shikhar Dhawan (6477) and Virat Kohli (6838). In the last match against Kolkata Knight Riders, Rohit Sharma got out for 20 runs. If he could score 34 runs in that match, he had a chance to cross the 6000 run mark. But Rohit could not do that in that match. He crossed the milestone of 6000 runs despite scoring only 28 runs on Tuesday.

Cameron Green scoring 56 runs for MI became the pillar for Rohit and his men

Rohit Sharma started scoring runs quickly from the start. Mumbai lost their first wicket when they were batting at 41 runs. Rohit scored 28 runs off 18 balls. SRH left arm pacer T. Natarajan took his wicket. Soon after Marco Jansen sent back Ishan Kishan to the pavillion. Jansen also dismissed Suryakumar who scored just seven runs off three balls. Mumbai lost three wickets out at 95 runs.

Rohit and his men couldn’t do much but, Cameron Green and Tilak Verma made a partnership of 56 runs from there. Green remained unbeaten on 64 but Tilak was out for 37 off 17 balls. Tim David scored 16 runs off 11 balls. But Mumbai’s entire innings stood on that of Green. This was his first fifty in IPL this time. Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians scored 192 runs against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

For more updates, follow, https://twitter.com/Crickdom7/

To Top