Ruturaj Gaikwad replaced by Mayank Agarwal in the SL T20I series

India National Team
Photo Credits: BCCI Twitter

According to the latest reports, it has come forward that India batsman, Ruturaj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the remaining 2 matches of the T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Gaikwad complained of wrist joint pain in the first T20I in Lucknow and was thus not selected.

He underwent MRI scans and the BCCI medical team also checked him up.

He will now go to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for rehabilitation of his wrist injury.

BCCI has now called in Mayank Agarwal as Gaikwad’s replacement for the 2 matches.

Agarwal is yet to make his debut for India in the shortest format of the game.

Ruturaj meanwhile made his debut last year in the Sri Lanka series in July 2021. He played only 2 matches in that series and his last match was against the West Indies last week in Kolkata.

India’s updated squad for the Sri Lanka T20I series

Rohit Sharma (c), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Mayank Agarwal

To Top