Ruturaj Gaikwad scripts history hits seven sixes in a 43-run over

India National Team

Maharashtra skipper, Ruturaj Gaikwad made a big record in the history of domestic cricket against Uttar Pradesh.

Gaikwad hit seven sixes in List A cricket which is a first in a domestic tournament.

Shiva Singh is the unfortunate bowler who had to concede these sixes off Gaikwad.

Things started in the penultimate over for Maharashtra when the scoreboard read 272 for 5.

After Gaikwad smashed Shiva Singh for seven sixes, the score eventually raised to 315 for 5 and in the end, Maharashtra finished off with 330 for 5.

This over of 43 runs also has made it to the record books and now matches the combined effort of Brett Hampton and Joe Carter off Willem Ludick in a Ford Trophy game in 2018.

Additionally, Gaikwad has also recorded a huge individual score for himself which is 220 from 159 balls.

Unfortunately, Shiva Singh ended his over with 0 for 88 runs in nine overs.

Gaikwad played single-handedly for Maharashtra with the rest of the batters contributing 96 runs from 142 balls.

This double century has also become the 39th double century in List A cricket and the fifth-highest score by an Indian in the format.

N Jagadeesan’s 277 is the top score in this list for Tamil Nadu against Arunachal Pradesh.

Ravi Shastri and Gary Sobers hold the record for conceding the highest amount of runs in domestic cricket history.

But, there is a much higher record in this as well which is 77 by Wellington’s Bert Vance in a Shell Trophy game against Canterbury in February 1990.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top