Sachin’s heroics in 2001 made India win the Kolkata Test

Crickdom Default Featured Image

Yesterday, was the anniversary of the historic 2001 Kolkata Test between India and Australia.

India won this game by a huge margin of 171 runs, thanks to contributions from their batters and bowlers.

But, one person who made this victory even more special was Sachin Tendulkar.

Despite failing with the bat in both innings of this Test, he nevertheless made contributions with the ball by dismissing three dangerous batsmen.

This Test is also remembered for Rahul Dravid’s 180 and VVS Laxman’s 281 along with Harbhajan Singh’s 13 wickets.

Talking about the three wickets, then the first to fall in Sachin’s trap was keeper-batter, Adam Gilchrist. He was given lbw as he missed the ball while trying to play a sweep shot.

Then, Tendulkar dismissed the ever-stubborn Matthew Hayden for 67 runs.

And finally, Tendulkar dismissed his best friend Shane Warne as he misread Sachin’s googly.

With the fall of these three wickets, Australia saw themselves at 174/8 with Harbhajan dismissing Jason Gillespie and Glenn McGrath.

India secured a thrilling win in the Chennai Test against Australia

After the thrilling Kolkata Test, India and Australia played the next Test at Chennai.

Here too, there was no shortage of thrills and chills for the Indian and Aussie fans.

Australia batted first and put up a score of 391 with Hayden scoring 203 of those runs.

Meanwhile, India in their first innings responded with 501 with Tendulkar as the top scorer with 126 runs.

He hit 15 boundaries and two sixes in his innings.

Additionally, other batters who made significant contributions were Dravid, Shiv Sunder Das, Laxman and Sadagoppan Ramesh.

In Australia’s second innings, Harbhajan Singh once again made inroads to dismantle Australia for 264 with India needing only 155 runs to win.

At 101/2, India were in firm control of the match. But, a flurry of wickets saw them at 135/7.

They somehow managed to get past Australia by winning the game by two wickets with a significant contribution from Sameer Dighe who scored an unbeaten 22 runs.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top