Stats in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy over the years

Crickdom Default Featured Image

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is a very popular Test series between the countries of India and Australia.

The inception of this Trophy was done in 1996-97 and it is named after former Australia and India skippers, Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar.

Since then, India and Australia have battled out for the trophy 15 times. In these 15 series, India has won the trophy 10 times while Australia has won it only five times.

Looking back at the years of this prestigious trophy, then there have been several wonderful performances from both teams over the decades.

For India, it has been Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Virat Kohli in terms of batters.

On the other hand, for Australia, it has been Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Steve Smith, and Matthew Hayden over the years.

Moreover, the bowlers who have performed well in this series for India have been Anil Kumble, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, and Zaheer Khan.

Meanwhile, it has been Nathan Lyon, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, and Josh Hazelwood have performed well for Australia in this series.

Looking at the team records, then each team has scored more than 500 runs on 24 occasions in 52 Tests.

Additionally, both teams have also scored under 100 once during this series.

In terms of centuries, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has seen 100 tons that include 1 triple ton and 15 double tons so far.

Tendulkar leads the list at the moment with 9 tons followed by Steve Smith, Ricky Ponting, and Virat Kohli.

Overall stats of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy over the years

Matches: 52

India won: 22

Australia won: 19

Drawn: 11

India’s Border-Gavaskar Record at Home:

Matches: 25

Won: 16

Lost: 5

Drawn: 4

India’s Border-Gavaskar Record at Australia:

Matches: 27

Won: 6

Lost: 14

Drawn: 7

Highest Total: 705/7 by India in Sydney in 2004

Lowest Total: 36 All Out by India in Adelaide in 2020

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top