Team India ‘s ideal starting XI against South Africa for the ODIs

India National Team

IND vs SA: South Africa is touring India for a bilateral series of 3 T20 internationals and as many one-day internationals. Team India won the T20 series by 2-1. The T20 World Cup-bound senior team participated in the T20 series. However, for the ODIs, the BCCI has fielded a ‘B’ team. Shikhar Dhawan is leading the side.

This series is a huge opportunity for the next generation of youngsters to showcase their muscles. A lot of new faces have been given a chance in the final 15. Madhya Pradesh star batter, Rajat Patidar, spin wizard Shahbaz Ahmed, and pacer Mukesh Kumar have received their maiden national call ups. However, the question remains as to what will be the perfect starting XI against the mighty South African side. Incidentally, India lost the first ODI by a whisker as they fell short of just 9 runs in the chase.

The opening dilemma for Team India

Shikhar Dhawan and Shubhman Gill are the natural choices for management. However, they have the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad and the man of the moment, Rajat Patidar to the side. Gaikwad dropped to number 3 in the last game but didn’t look too comfortable. He was dismissed for just 19 runs off 42 deliveries. Team India should consider giving him the top slot as his form is taking a hit.

The middle order looks settled

The middle order is stacked nicely. Shreyas Iyer was impressive in the last game. Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson are portraying their roles pretty much up to the mark. However, things turn upside down after Sanju. The tail starts a little too early for Team India. They need one proper all-rounder after Sanju at number 7. Shahbaz is someone with good bat power. He played substantial knocks in the IPL for RCB. He can undoubtedly anchor the innings at the end.

Pacers auditioning for the spot in the T20 World Cup

In a major blow to Team India, ace Indian pacer, Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out of the upcoming T20 World Cup owing to a recurring back injury. The Indian selection committee is yet to announce a replacement for the speedster. As of now, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, and Deepak Chahar are the front runners. Suspense over Shami’s fitness status lingers on. Siraj and Chahar are participating in the series. This could be an unofficial audition for the empty slot.

Hence, Siraj and Chahar are the sure spots on the team. Speaking of spinners, Kuldeep was highly impressive in the first game. His spot remains unchanged. If at all, the management decides to bring Shahbaz in, Bishnoi might have to make way for him. In the end, the four bolwers would be Chahar, Siraj, Kuldeep, Shahbaz/Bishnoi, and Shardul Thakur.

The final ideal playing XI

Shikhar Dhawan, Shubhman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson(wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar

Follow us for more sports related news on twitter

To Top