Umran Malik and Kuldeep Sen fail to make the cut for T20 World Cup

Crickdom Default Featured Image

Pacers Umran Malik and Kuldeep Sen have not travelled with India’s 15-member squad to Australia.

Their visas have not been approved which is the result they will be playing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

As their replacements, BCCI has sent Mohammed Shami and Mohammad Siraj to Australia.

A BCCI official stated after the two speedsters couldn’t make the cut,

They won’t be going anymore as ICC will be providing net bowlers after October 17. Anyway, other net bowlers will be flying in a few days. We tried for their visas but couldn’t get it done on time. That’s why they have been asked to play Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Both Malik and Sen impressed the BCCI during this year’s IPL. They have speeds over 157 kmph which is quite brilliant and rare.

Mukesh Chaudhary and Chetan Sakariya are the other two net bowlers who will now accompany India in Australia.

The Australian embassy has approved both of their visas under an exchange programme.

Australia’s legendary pacer Brett Lee was looking forward to having Umran in India’s squad.

He says,

I mean, when you have the best car in the world, and you leave it in the garage, what’s the point of having that car?

On the other hand, Shardul Thakur will be flying to Australia to replace Deepak Chahar who has been ruled out due to injury.

Ravi Bishnoi and Shreyas Iyer are yet to travel to Australia but BCCI has not allowed them as of now.

India were the winners of the first edition under a young MS Dhoni.

Last year, Australia won their maiden title after defeating New Zealand in Dubai. They will look to defend their title once again now with home advantage.

A total of 16 teams will be taking part this year and will play 45 matches across a multitude of venues.

For more sports updates, follow us on Twitter.

To Top