Varun Chakraborty in the purple cap holders’ list; Shami tops the list

Crickdom Default Featured Image

The race for the purple cap of IPL is at peak. The difference between the first and tenth ranked cricketers is just a few wickets. That is, a good performance by any cricketer on any given day can lift him up a lot. A good performance against Punjab has brought Varun Chakraborty in the race of purple cap.

Varun took three wickets against Punjab Kings on Monday. Varun thus has leaped a lot in the purple cap race, rose to number five. At this moment, Varun has 17 wickets in 11 matches. His economy rate is 7.84. That statistic is better than many.

But the toughest fight is for first place. Three cricketers are jointly standing in first position with 19 wickets. But because of the economy rate, Mohammed Shami is in possession of the purple cap at the moment. Shami took 19 wickets in 11 matches. His economy rate is 7.23.

Varun at number 5 in purple cap holders’ list

Shami’s teammate Rashid Khan also has the same number of wickets. He is at the second position due to his economy rate of 8.09. Chennai’s Tushar Deshpande also took 19 wickets. But his economy rate is 10.33.

Among the bowlers in the top ten, Piyush Chawla has the best economy rate. He took 17 wickets in 10 matches. He is at number four. His economy rate is 7.17. Next comes Varun.

Rajasthan’s Yuzvendra Chahal has the same number of wickets as Chawla and Varun. But with an economy rate of 8.08, he is ranked sixth. Arashdeep Singh (16), Rabindra Jadeja (15), Mohammed Siraj (15) and Ravichandran Ashwin (14) are in the next positions respectively.

For more updates, follow https://twitter.com/Crickdom7/

To Top