World Cup: Australia dominance continues, Won it for the sixth time


Australia won the Women’s T20 World Cup once again. Meg Lanning’s team defeated South Africa by 19 runs. They won the tournament after defeating them in South Africa in the final. Beth Mooney scored 74 off 53 balls. Australia scored 156 runs batting first. South Africa’s innings ended on 137 runs.

Australia women’s team won the T20 World Cup for the sixth time. Lannings have shown power throughout the World Cup. Beth Mooney came out to open on Sunday and capped off her innings of 74 runs with a six and nine fours. Another opener Alyssa Healy left the pitch early for 18 runs in this match but Mooney did not let the team in trouble. Ashley Gardner made a pair of 46 runs with him. Australia scored 156 runs in 20 overs even though the rest of the batsmen did not get runs that way. That was enough to put the opposition under pressure.

Laura, the lone girl fighting against rhe mighty Australia in the World Cup final

South Africa came out to bat and failed to score quick runs from the start. Opener Tazmin Brits got out after scoring 10 runs. Another opener Laura Woolworth scored 61 runs against Australia bowlers in the World Cup final. She was the one who gave hope to the team to win. But Laura got out after 109 runs of the team. After that, South Africa gradually lost from the match. They scored 137 runs in 20 overs. Despite having wickets in hand, South Africa could not score the winning runs. The required 27 runs in the last over to win. It was difficult for South Africa to pick up and they couldn’t. Laura’s dismissal eased the way for Australia to win the World Cup.

Australia defeated India in the semi-final. Harmanpreet Kaurra lost by just 5 runs. The match went out of hand after the India skipper was run out. South Africa unbelievably defeated England in the semi-finals. But there was no further incident in the final. The stronger Australia finally lifted the World Cup.

For more updates, follow

To Top