Yashasri Soppadhandhi makes it to India’s U19 T20 World Cup squad

Crickdom Default Featured Image

In the Women’s U19 T20 World Cup in South Africa, India is going all guns blazing.

They have won both of their matches against South Africa and the United Arab Emirates and will now face Scotland.

However, they have faced a player issue where they had to take permission from the Event Technical Committee to make a change to their squad.

Hurley Gala has suffered a laceration injury on her right thumb and is ruled out of the tournament.

After gaining the permission, India has included Yashasri Soppadhandhi in their squad for the remainder of the tournament.

According to the rules of the ICC, every team has to take permission from the Event Technical Committee before they can officially add a player to their squad.

The six-member committee after deliberating the issue, allowed India to bring in Soppadhandhi into the squad.

Additionally, Soppadhandhi was a part of the India U19 squad that recently played a six-match T20I series against South Africa.

She had a great outing during this time and picked up four wickets in the two games she played.

Moreover, Soppadhandhi also has a three-wicket haul to her name.

That’s why she will now be expected to perform in a similar fashion in this tournament as well.

India remains undefeated so far in the Women’s U19 T20 World Cup

Looking at India’s performance in the tournament so far, then the Women in Blue have done a fantastic job so far.

With two wins and zero losses so far, India is on top of the points table in Group D. They will now look to end their group stage with a win over Scotland.

Additionally, India is the only undefeated team in this tournament and has a great chance of making it to the Super Six stage.

India’s updated squad for ICC’s Women’s U19 T20 World Cup

Shafali Verma (c), Shweta Sehrawat (vc), Richa Ghosh (wk), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mendhiya, Yashasri Soppadhandhi, Hrishita Basu (wk), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top