Ishan Kishan replaces KL Rahul in Team India’s WTC Final squad

Ishan Kishan

During the IPL 2023 match between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore, KL Rahul injured himself while fielding. The player confirmed that he will not be participating in the remainder of the tournament or the upcoming World Test Championship Final due to the extent of his injury. In response, the BCCI has announced Ishan Kishan as Rahul’s replacement in the Indian squad for the marquee tournament. This match will take place against Australia on June 7 at The Oval.

Meanwhile, Jaydev Unadkat hurt his left shoulder while bowling in the nets and is currently undergoing a rehab session at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. Unadkat remains a part of the squad, and the decision on his final inclusion will be taken later as the tournament approaches.

In the IPL 2023 match, Lucknow Super Giants defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by five wickets in Dubai. With this win, the Super Giants registered their fifth victory of the season. The middle of the points table currently houses them, while the Royal Challengers Bangalore hold the third spot with ten points in nine matches.

During an IPL 2023 match on April 26, Umesh Yadav sustained a light left hamstring injury. He is currently undergoing rehabilitation under the KKR Medical Team’s watchful eye, and the BCCI is monitoring his progress. In the meantime, Karun Nair has taken KL Rahul’s spot in the Lucknow squad.

All the injuries happening around has increased team India’s headache.

The WTC Final will begin on June 7, 2023, at The Oval

India’s updated squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohd. Shami, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk).

Standby players: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav.

Follow us on Twitter for more!

To Top