Sri Lanka all set for third edition of Lanka Premier League

Crickdom Default Featured Image

The next season of Sri Lanka’s most beloved domestic tournament, Lanka Premier League is all set to start on the 6th of December 2022.

The proceedings of the tournament will start off with a doubleheader and the inaugural match is between defending champions Jaffna and Galle at 3 pm.

Moreover, Hambantota is the host for the first 20 games after which the proceedings head off to Kandy and Colombo.

Colombo’s RPICS is the host for the final round of games of the tournament.

Moreover, RPICS is going to witness the final of the tournament on 23rd December.

21st December is the date for Qualifier 1 and Eliminator.

With no breaks scheduled for teams, 22nd December is the second qualifier.

This time around, there will be a host of international stars at the LPL.

The LPL this time around will have a total of 24 games and will see many domestic and international players.

Anil Mohan, Founder, and CEO of IPG, a major sponsor for LPL says,

The appetite for cricket in Sri Lanka is huge and we are bringing the best of cricketing action to our fans in Sri Lanka. With the Lanka Premier League, we want to provide some high-energy T20 cricket throughout December. Sri Lanka Cricket has always produced many world class players and the inclusion of top international cricketers like Evin Lewis, Carlos Brathwaite, and Janneman Malan among others is contributing to the growth and popularity of Lanka Premier League in the subcontinent. I am sure that the third edition will be a success like the last two seasons.

The top two teams of the tournament will be playing Qualifier 1 of the tournament.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

To Top