Bangladesh Cricket Team is also known as the Tigers. The team is administered by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). It has Test, ODI, and T20 International (T20I) status. They are also a full Member of the International Cricket Council (ICC).


Prior to Bangladesh’s declaration of independence in 1971, many East Pakistan-based teams participated in Pakistani domestic cricket; the East Pakistan cricket team included three players who later competed in ICC Trophy matches. In 1977, they joined the International Cricket Council as an Associate Member (ICC).

One of the fifteen teams who competed in the first ICC Trophy was Bangladesh. It was held in 1979 and offered non-Test playing nations the chance to advance to the World Cup that year. Raqibul Hasan led the side in two victories and two defeats, but they were unable to go past the opening round. Bangladesh qualified for the 1986 Asia Cup thanks to victory in the South-East Asian Cricket Conference Tournament in February 1984. [45] Bangladesh played their debut One Day International match on March 31, 1986, against a Full Member of the ICC.

World Cup Participation

Bangladesh first participated in the 1999 World Cup as an associate nation. Since then, the team has participated in each world cup. They achieved their best result in 2007 World Cup by qualifying for the Super Eight stage. They went one step ahead in the 2015 World Cup. Bangladesh reached the quarterfinal of the 2015 World Cup. The team registered their famous win against England in the 2015 World Cup to qualify for the quarterfinal. However, they lost against India in the quartefinal.


More Posts
To Top